England travel guide




London Travel Guide

The City of London

The City of London is a geographically-small City within Greater London, is the historic core of London from which, along with Westminster, the modern conurbation grew. The City's boundaries have remained constant since the Middle Ages, and hence it is now only a tiny part of the larger London metropolis.

The City of London is now a major business and commercial centre in the world, ranking alongside New York City as the leading centre of global finance. It is often referred to as just the City or as the Square Mile, as it is approximately one square mile (2.6 km˛) in area; note that these terms are also often used as metonyms for the UK financial services industry, which is principally based there. In the medieval period the City was the full extent of London (as distinct from the nearby but then-separate village of Westminster, which became the City of Westminster), but the term London now refers to a much larger conurbation containing both 'cities'. The City of London is still part of London's city centre, but apart from financial services, most of London's metropolitan functions are centered on the West End. The City of London has a resident population under 10,000 but a daily working population of 311,000.

The City itself has two independent enclaves within it — Inner Temple and Middle Temple. These two areas form part of the City and Ceremonial County, but are not governed by the City of London Corporation. The Corporation governs the rest of the City and also owns various open spaces (parks, forests and commons) in and around London.

About us | Contact us | Privacy | Legal terms | Disclaimer

© 2005 - 2019 - All Rights Reserved.